Leather and Lace at Upper Shirley Vineyards

October 14, 2017

Back to Blog

Posted in:

I am totally in love with this shoot.  It has everything I love.  It’s different, it’s glam, it’s modern, and it’s bold.  It was also published on a major national blog which I am stoked about.   You can see the publication here. 

This shoot was inspired by the Stevie Nix song Leather and Lace.  The lyrics of the song that we got our inspiration are: 

Lovers forever face to face

My city your mountains

Stay with me stay

I need you to love me

I need you today

Give to me your leather

Take from me my lace

I wanted to focus on the contrast and the boldness of the lyrics. You can do leather and lace in a very luxe modern way, you can be fierce and still be bridal, and you can be elegant and still be edgy. 

The color palette was driven by the purple allium flower.  It is such a bold flower yet it is delicate and happy.  It is not necessarily elegant so it was used as an accent while all of the other flowers brought in the luxe elements. 

First impressions are so important, and the invitation suite really set the tone for this event.  Secret Diary really exceeded our expectations with their etched mirrored invitation and velvet soft menu cards.  The guests who would have received this invitation suite would have known they were in for an amazing experience. 

The cake was not a traditional round.  It was carved into a geometric shape and hand painted. We displayed the cake on a silver pedestal with a laser cut leather linen cascading off as if it were a lace train on a gown.  

While planning out all of the details of this shoot I kept going back to the couple that would actually be hosting this type of event.  What would they wear, what are they drawn to, what accessories would they like?  The couple I envisioned with this shoot are undeniably smart, bold, and sophisticated. 

This shoot was published on Aisle Perfect and used as their homepage banner!!  

If you missed the link above here it is again. Check it out here.

As always, I would love to chat.

 

Vendors:

Planner/Stylist: Swoon Soiree @swoonsoiree.com www.swoonsoiree.com

Photography: SBM Portraits  @sbmportraits www.sbmportraits.com

Florals: The Flower Guy Bron @theflowerguybron www.theflowerguybron.com

Venue: Upper Shirley Vineyards @uppershirley www.http://www.uppershirley.com

Props/Lighting: Mosaic Catering and Events @mosaiccatering http://mosaiccateringevents.com

Jewelry: Diamonds Direct @diamondsdirect https://diamondsdirect.com

Hair:  Markia Nicole http://www.markianicole.com @markianicolehmua

Makeup: Regan Wolfrey @reganwmua https://www.reganwolfrey.com

Invitation Suite: Secret Diary @secretdiarystationery http://www.secretdiary.co.za

Cake: Commonwealth Cake Company @commonwealthcakeco http://www.commonwealthcakecompany.com

Live Singer: Jocelyn Oldham http://www.jocelynoldham.com 

DJ: Missing Music @missingmusic

Linens: Nuage Designs @nuagedesignsinc  http://nuagedesigns.com

Calligraphy: Capital Calligraphy @capital_calligraphy https://www.facebook.com/capitalcalligraphy/

Bridal Gown, Veil, Headpiece: Urban Set Bride @urbansetbride https://www.urbansetbride.com

Tuxedo: Celebrity Bridal and Formals @celebritybridal http://www.celebritybridalandformals.com

Female Model: Shanel Ashley @shanelthedj

Male Model: Devin Groves  @devingroves_

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

Share this post

Categories

Sub Category
category
6673e94ddb02d
0
0
270,1
Loading....

Search

804-UNICORN

804-864-2676

by appointment only